Trafalgar Square A Tourist Attraction In London
There is no possibility of denying the importance of Trafalgar Square. It is a public space and considered to be a tourist attraction in central London, constructed around the area formerly known as Charing Cross. It is situated somewhat in the borough of the City of Westminster. At the centre of the place, there is a column known as Nelson’s Column, which is guarded by four lion statuette at its base. There are a number of commemorative statues and sculptures in the square while one plinth, remained empty since it was built-in 1840, The last Plinth, has been host to contemporary art since 1999. This place or square has also been used for political demonstrations, agitation, and society gatherings, such as the festivity of New Year’s Eve.
The above paragraph was a simple and succinct way of giving brief information to this historical place, what it is, where it is located and what purpose these are being used. Before further going ahead, we like to take you along discussing history parameter of square, as a very few people knows about it, why it was constructed and what history does it relate to. We believe our reader must be having some idea about the battle of Trafalgar.
It is nothing but a British Naval victory of the Napoleonic war fought between France and Spain. This fight had taken place some time back on October 21, 1805 off the coast of Cape Trafalgar in Los Canos de Meca. This town comes under the municipality of Barbate since 1940, Cadiz, Spain. Its original name was different and to have been known as King William the fourth’s Square, but it is believed George Ledwell Taylor had suggested the name place. You must have noticed, Trafalgar Square is also famous for configuration of pigeons at this particular area. There is no doubt the local authorities are trying to discourage people from feeding these pigeons with a view to getting rid of that bird, but the pigeons are still very popular with Londoners and visitors alike.
It was made open to the general public some time back on May 01, 1844 after removing all hurdles and hoarding. At that particular day of opening asphalt, paving road was very soft, and some fountain was not working properly. There was still some hoarding around the base of Nelson Column. It is believed these were remained there for some years even after opening for public.